Push notifications allow you to send messages directly to the people who have installed your app, even when the app is closed on a device.
Whenever a user posts into the News Feed or Crowd Pics page, a notification is automatically sent to all who have downloaded the app. A user of your Yapp can change these settings here.
You can decide on the default push notifications setting for your app on the settings & privacy section of the app, accessible through the gear icon.
Want to broadcast a specific message?
Creators of an app can also broadcast any items from their News Feed page as a push notification to their attendees from their mobile device. In order to do so, the creator of the app should be logged into Yapp on their device.
Once you have signed in, go to the News Feed page on the app you have created. Tap on the entry you want to send out to your users, then tap 'Broadcast'.
Your users will receive this notification even if Yapp is closed, as long as they have enabled Notifications. Just remember that they must have the latest version of the Yapp app!
The notification will show up on the home or lock screen of a users' phone, just like other notifications.